top of page
  • Writer's picturerewririfalmimomeme

Intratec Tec 22 Full Auto Conversion PDF: The Ultimate Resource for Fans of the TEC-22



Intratec TEC-22 ready to go.Field-strippedHere's the trigger mechanism and internals.Intratec tec-22 - Rim Fire Race GunI'm sure you are already wondering what the heck a TEC-22 is doing in here with all the other "more conventional" rim fire race guns. Well, I actually entered this TEC-22 in a couple of iron sight class bowling pin top competitions a few years back, just for the fun of it. Actually got a second place it, to everyone's consternation. (They've FINALLY stopped calling me "The old guy with the UZI!") The TEC-22 has a lot of really neat things about it. First, of course, is it's looks! All black, boxy steel with a short little barrel, large capacity magazine. What's NOT to like! Just OWNING one is enough to set off the gun-banners.When I first picked up a TEC-22, I was pleasantly surprised by the feel of the grip. It doesn't look too fancy, but it seems to fit your hand well, although it's a little slippery. Very comfortable, in fact. The sights, although large and crude (like some of my shooting buddies!) do the job. If you have lousy eyesight to start with, BIG sights are appreciated. The TEC-22 uses standard Ruger 10/22 magazines, and that gives you lots of magazine capacities to choose from.The TEC-22 is the second easiest semi-auto there is for field stripping. The easiest is the Jennings 22. It would disassemble itself in your hand, sending parts in all directions when you fired it.To field strip the TEC-22, just push in the button on the back of the frame just below the rear sight and lift up the hinged top of the receiver. Pull the slide back about half an inch, and lift it, the guide rod, and spring out as an assembly. That's it! You can field strip it and reassemble it in ten seconds!!How's it shoot? The trigger pull is average, but is easy to work on, and pull can be lightened to suite your preferences. I think a wider trigger would also improve the feel. Shooting from a rest, it's more accurate than I would have expected, considering the short barrel. I wouldn't expect too much at fifty yards, but that wasn't it's intent to start with. The sights, although not fancy, seem to do the job OK. The rear sight is adjustable for elevation, and the front sight adjusts for windage. One of these days I might just mount a red dot sight on my TEC-22. That could be a really fun combination!I have had failure-to-eject problems once in a while, but I suspect part of this is due to the gun still being a little tight, and possibly my selection of ammunition. Come to think of it, cleaning it more often would also help, I'll bet!Final Impressions: I find the TEC-22 to be one of the most fun 22's I've ever fooled around with. It's not the most accurate, not the most precisely built, and certainly not the most sophisticated from an engineering standpoint.However, it's a whole lot of fun to shoot, and that's what it's REALLY all about, isn't it!As long as you don't mind being called the old guy with the UZI.......


Ejection and mis-feeding seems to be more of a problem than extraction. Cleanliness is important, and different ammo seems to make a difference. I have had more problems with Ramline magazines than with the one that came with the TEC-22.I still haven't fully cured the problem, however. Any and all ideas will be appreciated, and if you find something that really helps, I'll do a full post on the solutions....




intratec tec 22 full auto conversion pdf




The modification to the semi-auto TEC-22 will allow the TEC-22 to work 100% reliable with BUTLER CREEK 25 round 'HOT LIPS' magazines! Don't sell your TEC-22! The cure for it's jamming problems has been found! I wanted to sell my TEC-22 until I found a way to make it shoot reliably. I fired over 10,000 rounds of .22LR ammo through my TEC-22. The cure is very easy for the jamming TEC-22. E-mail me if you want to know how to make your semi-auto TEC-22 fire 100%! e-mai: Billuvrights@aol.com


Hello ! I am a former employee with intratec. Any problems were only one shot fired only and the bolt action doesn't slide back....this is in result of poor ammunition power. here's a few good onescci-ammunition(visit cci-ammunition.com)Remington (high-Velocity)Winchester (sub-sonic)...o.ksuper x..okI perfer the firt 2..cci& rem.Whoever we were force to stop manufacting firearms & accesories.A few is still around like folding stock, universal grip, flash hider, laser & optic, mags,all for tec 22. please visit intratecparts.com post 4/5/2006


Any one who enjoys shooting rimfire cartridges at high rate of fire needs a CalicoM100 mine runs through the 100 round mag in about 14 seconds. Barrel mods are available and even the cheapest ammo cycles flawlessly through the patended feed system.Excersise your constitutional rights brothers.full clips forever!


Any one who enjoys shooting rimfire cartridges at high rate of fire needs a CalicoM100 mine runs through the 100 round mag in about 14 seconds. Barrel mods are available and even the cheapest ammo cycles flawlessly through the patended feed system.Excersise your constitutional rights brothers.full clips forever!4:12 PM


I just bought a tech 22 and the first thing I had to do was replace the extractor and I got that off sksparts.com the told me they have intratec,s old pattons and remake the parts with better materials, I also have a ruger 22 and the resistance of the firing pin spring is much less in the ruger than the intratec, that must be why higher valocity ammo is better, I have had no luck with lighter springs, seems like they are not smooth in operation. Does taking down the top of the trigger catch really work for full auto, or do you need to buy parts and get a liscence, I am to to eager to ruin my gun.


Anon: I appreciate you leaving a comment on the specifics on converting the TEC-22 into full auto. However, since such conversions can only legally be done by a gunsmith with the required licenses, and since those folks already know what to do, they don't need the procedure for conversion. ..... Mr. C.


Fix Jams: * 1st use a better magazine. The stock Tec-22 30rnd mag is very cheap a good steel hotlips mag (25 rnd) for $20.00 works great. *Next the extraction & stove pipeing can be solved with a very slight grinding off part of the barrel where the extractor grabs the casing. The CCI Stigners Jam less becasue they have a larger lip to grab. slightly grind the angled area where the extractor grabs the casing lip (and I do mean very slightly as to not damage the barrel) If you take out the mag and watch it eject a case from the bottom u can see exactly where to grind. Use some emmery paper to smooth the burrs from catching the next bullet and your done. Make sure to keep your Tec-22 very, very clean and well oiled or it will give you problums. A clean gun is a happy gun!*Disclamer I am not a gun smith, these are just the mods I made carefully and with some gun knowledge if your in doubt take it to your local gun smith and have them trim the metal!


i have a beautiful tec-22 scorpion for sale bought in texas never had a problem with it jammin after i figured out how to properly seat the magazine only fired a few times but seeing as intratec is no longer in business i am asking $350 if interested email me kevinheiden@yahoo.com


I have a Tec 22 and while firing it, the metal striker (firing pin) broke. Ordered a new one from Numrich gun parts. Now I'm getting slam fires or auto fires from my Tec 22. Want to correct this problem. Is the new metal striker "too heavy" for the spring that recoils the striker? Should I replace the spring that the striker recoils against?


Wondering if anyone can steer me in the right direction. I have an intratec ab10 with a cracked frame, or lower receiver. Wondering if there's anyplace that I can get a replacement. I know the serial number is on the frame, so i'm not sure if this is possible. I'm tempted to buy a second one just for parts if there's no where I can get a frame......any help would be great. thanks Dan


additional info. the Tech .22 is clean. I'm guessing fired less than 600-700 rounds total. Started Jaming more often in the last 100 rounds. I think it needed cleaned and lubed. Plus, I always used cheap ammo. And I'm going to assume the weak spring in the magazine was part of the issue. I tried a box of 100 CCi my bro gave me and it seemed to help the problem much, until the spring in the clip broke. I kept it fully loaded all of the time. It has been stored in it's case since. Send me offers if you want, but, like I said I may not even consider the sale if I don't get the gun I'm looking into at the price I want. kmfrost69@aol.com


I use cci mjni mags, fires ok with original and with hot lips as long as the clip is snug and pulled forward while firing, otherwise I will get a couple jams out of a full clip. Maybe each gun has its own qwirks. I will be selling for best offer, I'll stick with my 9mm. joeysosa@yahoo.com


Anyone interested in a TEC 22 scope rail made from the original intratec pattern, give me shout. candewman@yahoo.com I have pictures I can send from past projects. I'm getting into them again. High quality, anodized, 6061 aluminum that fit the way the original did. I do modify them to be a little bit, better fit though.


i've had this gun for a long time now-mine had the original firing pin that did not need a spring in it(or some one made it).we all know these little gun's tend to jam alot-if it's not the ammo then it's the clip or the gun needs to be cleaned or all three. well here is what cured mine.on ammo-cci stingers and mini mags-two reasons has enough kick back to fully eject spent round and the rim is fat so the ejector has no problem catching it. keep gun clean.now the magazine's-here's the part that i've spent most of my money on and was not happy at all-stay away from butler creek clips,eagle clips,ruger clips-the one you want is made by ram line because i never had a problem with the original factory clip till it started to break then the jamming started but i found out that ram line made the original clips went to the gun shop bought a ram line 50 rounder went to the rang filled her up with stinger's and let her rip flawlessly not one jam or hang up.with the ram-line mags use cci ammo stinger-mini mags in the tactical inc mag you can use all the cheap stuff and works perfectly to get the tactical inc mags go to tacticalinc.com or sksparts.com and cost about $60 and for tec-22 parts go to sksparts.com or e-gunparts.com and yes it has to be spelled e-gunparts.com, hope this help's anyone with the tec 22 jamming curse. if anyone has a question for me you can find me at the forum page on e-gunparts.com my name is khaleb 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page